To: Alicia Tomaszewski, Society General Activities

FROM: Carole M. Swaim DATE: March 8, 2001

RE: ComSoc Elections 2001 Candidates

Nineteen (19) candidates (there are supposed to be 20) are running for five (5) positions. This year, each Member will cast their votes as follows: one vote for each Vice President; two votes (total) for Members-at-Large (top four of the twelve candidates will serve on the Board of Governors).

## Vice President - Membership Development

Trevor Clarkson Byeong Gi Lee

## **Vice President – Membership Services**

Andrzej Jajszczyk Roberto Saracco

# **Vice President – Society Relations**

Alex Gelman

UNDETERMINED as of now

#### **Vice President – Technical Activities**

Juergen Haag Bill Tranter

## Members-at-Large (total of 2 votes only for Member at Large)

Salah Aidarous Justin Chuang Shri Goyal Chih-Lin I Gerald Peterson Tatsuya Suda

Vijay Bhargava

Jacob Baal-Schem Heinrich Stuettgen

Hugh Bradlow Naohisa Ohta

Jorge Hedderwick

The membership status of each candidate has been verified (Juergen Haag is applying for Senior Member status.). Biographies and candidate statements are attached, and I have headed every section with name, candidate position and bio/statement for clarity.

Please arrange to have our votes tallied by region. Also as usual, we would like the ballots mailed by April 15, with returns due back to IEEE by June 30 allowing 10 weeks for returns, and

having the results announced around July 10,. We will continue the option of electronic balloting – and will again include a "raffle" to encourage electronic voting.

We would like to see the ballot before it goes to the printer (as usual). If you have any questions, please call me (212-705-8970). As always, Alicia, thank you.

Carole